2009 Midwest Regional Championship at Iceman

Time for WORS to Once Again Defend Our Title!

Going into its forth year, the Midwest Regional Championship will once again be held conjunction with the Iceman, in Traverse City, Michigan on Saturday November 7.

This competition offers many of those placing at the top of their class in WORS an opportunity to compete in the largest single day (and sold out) MTB event in North America and is certainly a great way to cap off the season while showcasing the talent of WORS racers.

The fee to participate in this great event will again be a mere $10 administrative fee to cover the cost of the number plate, processing of the entry, insurance, etc.. We are extremely grateful to the ?Iceman?, Steve Brown for making this possible!

In determining qualifiers for this event, WORS racers are slotted into the Iceman divisions (a possible 46 are applicable) with the race entry first offered to the highest placing qualifier in the combined division. If that qualifier is unable to attend or declines participation in the MRC, the entry will pass to the next highest qualifier. Slush cup and Sno Cone races at the Iceman do not qualify. Because WORS has many more classes than the 46 applicable Iceman divisions, we must combine many of our classes and use overall placement within a category to determine qualifiers. It may take until after Sheboygan to determine qualifiers in some classes. Please remember WORS Comp and Sport will be combined for Iceman Sport divisions, just as there are for reporting results to USA Cycling. The Iceman has expanded Sport divisions, notably Sport Men with 40-43, 44-46, and 47-49 requiring a reverse scenario from the one explained above. In determining the MRC standings after the race, only one racer will represent each series in any single Iceman division.

The Midwest Regional Championships (MRC) is a "lowest-points wins" competition between mountain bike race series in Wisconsin, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Kentucky and West Virginia that pits division winners from each state series in a head to head competition. 1st place equals 1 point, 2nd place 2 points and so on. DNF?s are not scored. A minimum of 10 racers used in this lowest-points formula. For state series sending less than 10 representatives, a penalty of 20 points will be issued for each spot that is not filled.

VERY IMPORTANT: ALL registration forms for qualifying WORS racers must be sent directly to WORS and WORS will forward entries to the Iceman in ONE package. You must either mail your form to WORS or drop it off at the WORS tent at one of the last two races along with the $10 administrative fee for the Iceman. Entry forms will be available at the WORS tent or here.

All registration forms for WORS racers who think they may qualify must be received (not postmarked) no later than October 15.

Thanks to Ryan O?Dell, series director of the Ohio Mountain Bike Championships for coordinating this competition.

Direct any questions to Don at don@wors.org.

2009 Midwest Regional Championships
Probable WORS Qualifiers
1 Pro/Expert Women 19-34 Abbigail Strigel
Holly Liske
Lisa Krayer
2 MYC Scholarship Women 12-18 MurphyKate Montee
Liz Shull
Moriah Griesbach
3 Expert Women 35-44 Lori Sable
April Dombrowski
Brenda Zimmermann-Thorpe
4 Sport Women 19-34 Ashley Weichmann
Kate Heil
Sara Birdsall
5 Sport Women 35-44 Brittany Nigh
Ann Holsen
Molly Wolf
6 Sport/Exp Women 45-54 Christine Czarnecki
Christine Griesbach
Colleen Westphal
7 Beginner Women 19-34 Niki Frazier
Margaret Matuszak
Chelsea Zello
8 Beginner Women 35-44 Andrea Lyman
Chasity Gabrielson
Jodi Rummelhart
9 Beginner Women 45-54 Rolleen Kralovec
Susan Borchardt
Diana Klapperich
10 All Women 55-64 Jenni Borell
Rose Lenss
Sue Blankenheim
11 All Women 65 +
13 Women Singlespeeds Susie McGinnity
14 Pro Men Brian Matter
Mark Lalonde
Nathan Guerra
15 MYC Scholarship Men 12-18 Caleb Lenss
Myles Beach
Kyle Warras
16 Expert Men 19-24 Darrin Braun
Ben Koenig
Matt Gehling
17 Expert Men 25-29 Ted Hanes
Seth Lenss
Christian Brekke
18 Expert Men 30-34 Maciej Nowak
Landon Lueck
Neil Swanson
19 Expert Men 35-39 Ray Nelson
Joe Curtes
Ryan Krayer
20 Expert Men 40-44 Jeff Melcher
John Lirette
J. W. Miller
21 Expert Men 45-49 John Shull
Jan Rybar
Dennis Schuelr
22 Expert Men 50-54 Greg Bower
John Timm
Mike Wanek
23 Sport Men 19-24 Brian Braun
Matt Muraski
Nick Sabel
24 Sport Men 25-29 Jesse Shoemaker
Spencer Strigel
Corey Stelljes
Ben Neubauer
25 Sport Men 30-33 Anthony Dipiazza
Wally Kunstman
Anthony Ferrara
26 Sport Men 34-36 Rick Walls
Karl Tillman
Scott Hietpas
27 Sport Men 37-39 Chris Gabrielson
Dan Tavela
Ric Damm
28 Sport Men 40-43 Jeff Askland
Brian Hess
Steve Pribek
29 Sport Men 44-46 Glen Stroik
Ross Lemke
Sean Shields
30 Sport Men 47-49 Jeff Seifert
Jeff Sympson
Nick Christofalos
31 Sport Men 50-54 Mike Wanek
Marcum Martz
Brad Tennis
32 Beginner Men 15-18 Tony Kaatz
David Flaten
Jordan Loeck
33 Beginner Men 19-24 Nick Krcma
Travis Shirpke
Jared Brodjeski
34 Beginner Men 25-29 Eli Lipp
Brian Paterson
Ryan Usiak
35 Beginner Men 30-34 Dan Wierzba
Jason Gibson
Derek Sommerfeld
36 Beginner Men 35-39 Christopher Schmidt
Peter Fetters
Scott Yurjevich
37 Beginner Men 40-44 Brian Visintin
Pete Thielen
Mike Gorka
38 Beginner Men 45-54 Larry Hipps
Scott Foate
Michael Miller
39 All Men 55-59 Don Edberg
Keith Kaufman
Warren Fowler
40 All Men 60-64 Wayne Fish
Mark Muraski
Dale Lenss
41 All Men 65+ Jon Derksen
Mike Sherman
Steve Manthe
44 Sport/Expert Clydesdales a Cat 1 rider over 200# ?
a Comp rider over 200# ?
Tyler Welnak
Jeff Steckbaurer
Chris Fellows
45 Beginner Clydesdales Mark Clinton
Christopher Voss
Henry Kosarzycki
46 Men Singlespeeds 39 & Under Ron Stawicki
Greg Jones
David Thomas
47 Men Singlespeeds 40+ Mike Curtes
Mark Burkholz
Jerry Daanen
WORS Sponsors

2020 WORS Series Sponsors