Cooper Dendel Takes Back to Back WORS Wins

2In the second event for the 2014 Wisconsin Off Road Series (WORS) presented by Trek, Cooper Dendel (Quick Stop Bike Shop) grabbed her second win of the season while Brian Matter (Momentum Endurance) showed up for his first WORS victory this year. The Crystal Lake Classic is a favorite among WORS racers that love fast lead outs and action packed single track. Located at the Camp Tesomas (Hanna Venture Base) Boy Scout camp in Rhinelander, WI, the Crystal Lake Classic delivers the kind of full throttle race action that adrenaline junkies live on. With a long a dusty double track lead out, racers need to maneuver themselves to the front of the pack before hitting several miles of single track. There is enough variety along the 7.5 mile lap to keep competitors excited and eager to win. In the Belgioioso Cat 1/Pro Women’s event, Cooper Dendel (Quick Stop Bike Shop) proved once again that she means business in 2014. Grabbing her second win, Dendel is on a hot streak. To her own admission, Dendel loves single track and the Crystal Lake Classic has plenty of it. But it was not an easy win either. Dendel was followed closely by April Morgan (Foundry Cycles), Corrie Osborne (Team Extreme), Evelyn Johnson (Linear Sports MTB) and Sarah Agena (Hidden Bay/CiderBoys). Morgan’s approach was to let Dendel do most of the work at first, hoping she would maybe let up at some point. But with her skills and confidence in the single track, Dendel opened almost a 3 minute gap that Morgan could not close. Not shaken by Cooper’s performance, April Morgan pushed on to keep her 2nd place spot. Knowing how strong of a racer Corrie Osborne is, Morgan kept her pace fast and rode much of the race alone. Osborne credited her full suspension Trek Superfly for her speed through the rough single track along with drafting off of riders near her. This is the second podium finish for young Osborne in her first year in the adult Cat 1 field. The Belgioioso Men’s Cat 1/Pro race showed the return of former WORS overall champion, Brian Matter (Momentum Endurance) for his first victory of the year. Matter has been traveling to get some early race miles under his belt before the Wisconsin summer arrives. It paid off for him Sunday as he narrowly slipped away from Nathan Guerra (Vision/Attitude Sports) for the win. The heat was on the entire 4 laps as the two ferocious competitors fed off of each other keep the pace high and the lead gap open. Matter is not one to give in easily while Guerra tried to relive his victory from this event in 2013. The wheel to wheel action had spectators excited and cheering for their favorite racer to win. Joseph Maloney (KS Energy Services/ Team Wisconsin) gave it all he had to try to hang with the top two. His efforts locked in a third place finish but did not get him into the running for the win. In the final lap, Matter proved to be the stronger rider by opening up a 30 second gap on Guerra, which was enough to give him the win. Honorable mention also goes to Tyler Gauthier (Bike Marquette/Quick Stop) and Justin Piontek (Adventure 212/Specialized) who grabbed 4th and 5th respectively.
WORS Sponsors

2020 WORS Series Sponsors