Posts from 200711

WORS Heads & Overall Award Winners

WORS Heads if you were unable to attend the Awards Banquet, please follow the same procedure you would for claiming a plaque to receive your special insulated beverage mug, a beverage coupon from the Muddy Cup and your 2007 WORS Head sticker.

Congratulations to this year

WORS Racers Dominate at Midwest Regional Championships

The Midwest Regional Mountain Bike Championships(MRC) ran as part of the Iceman Cometh Challenge in Traverse City, Michigan on Saturday, November 10.  The Wisconsin Off Road Series (WORS) reigned supreme in 2007 taking first place in the MRC by a huge margin, (WORS also won the inaugural event in 2006). Second place went to the ever strong home team of Michigan's, Tailwind series. While the lowest step on the podium was a drag'em out fight to the last racer between Indiana's Dino series and the OMBC riders from Ohio. In the end, Ohio got the best of the Hoosier state.  The 19 best finishes of qualifiers from each state were scored in this year

Banquet Report: 2007 Annual WORS Award CeremonyWORS racers, friends and family gathered on Saturday October 20 for the Annual Awards Banquet at Sentry World Sports Center in Stevens Point, Wisconsin. Approximately 350 WORS faithful were in attendance to celebrate the conclusion of another great year of racing fun. The banquet began with a social hour and racers met friends and competitors to recall their favorite experiences from the 2007 series.

After dinner, the awards ceremony began with a slideshow of images from the season captured by Extreme Photography Unlimited. WORS sponsors, race directors, land owners, timing crew, webmaster, WORS posse, advertisers, and last, but certainly not the least, WORS racers were acknowledged and thanked. Gary Smits of Extreme Photography presented WORS director Don Edberg with a commemorative poster and acknowledged his hard work and dedication. The assembled audience answered this recognition with a standing ovation, and Don answered calls of "Speech!" with the comment that he would have plenty of talking ahead of him during the awards ceremony. The 2007 WORS Heads (those racers who competed in all twelve 2007 WORS races) were announced.

Awards were then given for both the Marathon and the Overall Series. Hayes Disc Brake Citizen Series racers were the first to receive their overall plaques and recognition for their efforts. Awards continued with winners in the CycleOps Sport Series, Clif Bar Comp, and the BelGioioso Elite Series taking to the podium. Jesse Lalonde (Gary Fischer 29 / BareKnuckleBrigade) and Sara Kylander-Johnson (Trek/VW) were each presented with a Gary Fisher HiFi Deluxe, a a WORS All-In-One gift certificate for 2008 and a personal framed photo collage from Extreme Photo while being named WORS Elite Overall Champions for 2007.

2007 Elite Series Racer Awards:
1st Place: Gary Fisher HiFi Deluxe 29er &
WORS All-In-One gift certificate &
Extreme Photography Unlimited 8X10 photo
($3028 value) -
Won by Jesse Lalonde, WORS # 51 and Sara Kylander Johnson, WORS #520

2rd Place: Bontrager Race X Lite TLR Disc Wheel Set &
Bontrager Dry X tubeless tires &
Specialized Optics &
Park Super Lite Repair Stand &
Park Roll-Up Workshop &
Extreme Photography Unlimited 8X10 photo
($1445 value)
WORS Sponsors

2020 WORS Series Sponsors